Eastern Region volunteers and rowers recognised

The annual British Rowing Awards ceremony was held on 20th January – this year’s had to be held virtually but this means you can go to the BR website and catch up on all the stories here.

The Awards recognise the herculean efforts of the entire rowing community across the country, rowers, volunteers and supporters in all sorts of settings to maintain, and even grow the sport during these so-challenging times. |You can find all the citations on this page.

The Region was represented by nominees in almost all categories – see the news story here – and we are thrilled to be able to celebrate the following as winners of National Awards (in the order in which they were announced):

Club Crew of the Year

Cantabrigian RC Womens 8

National Safety Award

Julie Hogg, City of Cambridge RC

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tony Roper, Yare Boat Club (joint award with Mike Beresford, Southampton University and Andy Turner, Queens Park HS)

Tony Roper

Medal of Merit

Vicky Parry, Isle of Ely RC

Covid Hero

Chris Elder and Hayley Shipton of Peterborough City – Commened

Project of the Year

Fairlop RC

Club of the Year

Lea Rowing Club – Commended