British Rowing Awards 2020

British Rowing are announcing the WINNERS of this years Awards between Christmas and New Year and TODAY’S winners are for Medals of Honour for Outstanding Service to Rowing which are not presented lightly. Former recipients include the good and the great of rowing from Jürgen Grobler, Sir Steve Redgrave and Sir Matthew Pinsent through to Mike Sweeney, Rosie Mayglothling and Annamarie Phelps.

The 2020 Medals of Honour have been awarded to Andy Crawford and Fiona Dennis.

Both Andy and Fiona have served the sport of rowing at every possible level and have brought enormous skills and energy to their work.

For more on their achievements and contribution see the BR page here.

And the winners of both Club of the Year and Rowing Project of the Year are Fulham Reach Boat Club.

For their citation as Club of the Year and the other nominations including our very own Milton Keynes RC please see here.

For the citation and other nominess for Rowing Project of the Year please see here.

Here in the East we are especially proud of the Medal of Merit awarded to the late Sally Lawrence of Lea RC.

Sally made an enormous contribution to rowing at every level with her Club, with the Region and at national level. Her enthusiasm for the sport and the energy and organisation she brought with her were unique.

For the Region’s tribute to Sally please see this page.

For the Lea RC page celebrating Sally’s life and work click here.

For a wonderful montage of images see here.

And for the citation and video tribute on the BR site please see here.

Also announced today are the Lifetime Achievement Awards for exceptional contributions as volunteers, and the Award from the Eastern Region goes to Steve Brown of Peterborough City who receives the award having celebrated 55 years in the sport.

For the citation and that of the other Regional winners please see here.

In the Coach of the Year Category our very own Pete Forrest of Peterborough City was the winner of Club Development Coach of the Year and the overall winner of the national award was Florence Griffiths from Kingston Rowing Club

Pete Forrest accepting local award

To read the citations for all the wonderful work done by these coaches, and others please see the British Rowing page here.

Awarded the Beryl Crockford Medal for outstanding contribution to Junior Rowing over many years are Bryan Steele of Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association and Bill Parker of St.Leonard’s School, Durham. For more detail about the Award, their citations and details of their work with junior rowing over the years please see the British Rowing page here.

Club Crew of the Year

Jen Titterington and Bev Goodchild of Sudbury and Ipswich RCs, winner of Club Crew of the Year. Bev and Jen had an exceptional season, becoming the first women’s crew from East Anglia to qualify for an open event at Henley Royal Regatta.

To put these achievements into perspective, these two scullers both live in Ipswich and train at Ipswich RC, although Jen often races in Sudbury RC kit. Ipswich is a very small, recently formed club, operating from a Portakabin, with some weights set up in an old shipping container. It has a few boats stored on a marina pontoon and rows on a tidal estuary with a busy commercial port to negotiate.

The level of commitment and dedication shown by Bev and Jen has been exceptional, training daily at the club in less than ideal, challenging conditions. 

To see the full citation, a short video of recognising their achievements andf the nominations for crews from all the other Regions see the BR page here.

The winner of the University Crew of the Year category is Matt Brigham of University of Leeds BC. For his citation and those also nominated in this category, including Newnham College in this Region, please see here.

The winner of the Junior Crew of the Year goes to the junior moens double from Tees RC. For details of their citation and nominations from other regions please see here.

The Award for National WVolunteer of the Year goes to Ellen Mitchell from Grosvenor Rowing Club particularly for ehr work to celeberate the 150th Anniversary of the Club. For the video and citiation please see here, where you will also find the citations for winners from other Regions including our very own Ellie Darlington

The Award for Rising Star of the Year goes to Chloe Kelly from Blue Star Club in Yorkshire for her work at Leeds RC. See here for her citation, a short video tribute and the nominations for all the other wonderful volunteers in this category.

And here, a Christmas mesasage from Andy Parkinson, CEO of BR